The Coxsackie Articles of Association


The Coxsackie Declaration of Independence

Den amerikanska självständighetsförklaringen föregicks av ett frihetskrig mot England. Vid Hudsonfloden och samhället Coxsackie hade befolkningen förfärats över den engelska arméns grymhet vid ett slag. Man tog mod till sig, och trots den uppenbara faran, författade man den skrivelse som vi publicerar nedan.
Skulle England vinna, skulle med stor sannolikhet alla dessa män som skrivit under ha hängts som förrädare.
Vi har fyllt i de Broncksar som deltog i protesten. Det är möjligt att fler är ingifta i släkten. Vi kommer med tiden att registrera även dem.
Nedan följer några ledtrådar. Fet stil är Bronck och kursiverad stil är ingifta släkten i Bronck. Vi kommer så småningom att komplettera med Bronck ingifta i andra släkten.

Källa: Olive N. Woodworth

The Coxsackie Declaration of Independence

On May 17, 1775, more than a year before the Declaration of Independence was presented in Philadelphia, the inhabitants of Coxsackie signed a Declaration of Independence of their own. The faded yellow parchment, found in an Albany attic some years ago, bears the names of 225 signers, most of them Dutch names of freeholders from the Coxsackie District of the Colony of New York.

Within a month after this historic event on the Hudson, the Battles of Concord and Lexington had been fought, the British force had attacked Bunker Hill, and Washington had been summoned to lead the American army surrounding Boston. Much of the excitement of the times can be felt when this document is read; and history records that the revolutionary fever reached a peak thirteen months later, at Philadelphia, the Declaration of Independence was signed by all the colonies.

The Coxsackie Declaration was discovered by Mr. John M. Clark, then president of the Albany Institute and History and Art Society, who presented it to the Institution, where it remains. The document was pronounced authentic by Dr. Sullivan and Dr. Wyer, who served, respectively, as State Historian and State Librarian at that time, and by the State Archivist. It was displayed among other selected material on the New York Freedom Train when it toured the State. Over the years, the writing on the document, faded and somewhat illegible; of the 225 signatures, only 211 are decipherable and presumed accurate. Some of the patriots, unable to write their names, signed with an ”+” . The first signer, John (Johannes) Schuneman, was undoubtedly the fighting ”Dutch Dominie of the Catskills”, for the letters V.D.S., meaning Verbum Dei Servus (Minister of the Word of God) appear after his name. And there is enough authentic data on the Dominie to provide assurance that he drew up the Declaration personally.

Anthony Van Bergen, the eighth signer, and Henry Van Bergen, the fourth signer, were Colonel and captain, respectively, of the Coxsackie militia during the Revolution.


Persuaded that the Salvation of the Rights and Liberties of America, depends, under God, on the firm union of its Inhabitants, in a vigorous prosecution of the Measures necessary for its Safety, and convinced of the Necessity of preventing the Anarchy and confusion which attend the Dissolution of the Powers of Government:

THAT the Freeholders and Inhabitants of Coxsackie District, in the County of Albany, being greatly alarmed at the avowed Design of the Ministry to raise a Revenue in America, are shocked by the bloody Scene acting in the Massachusetts Bay; Do in the most solemn manner, resolve never to become Slaves; and do also associate under the Ties of Religion, Honor and Love of our Country to adopt and endeavor to carry into Execution whatever Measures may be rendered by our Continental Congress, or resolved upon by our Provincial Convention for the purpose of preserving our Constitution and apposing the Execution of several arbitrary and oppressive Acts of the British Parliament, until a reconciliation between Great Britain and America or constitutional principles (which we most ardently desire) can be obtained; and that we will, in all Things, follow the advice of our general Committee, respecting the purpose aforesaid, the preservation of Peace and good Order, and the Safety of Individuals and private property.

Dated at Coxsackie the Seventeenth of May in the Year of our Lord, One Thousand seven hundred and seventy five. (signed by 225 citizens of Coxsackie)

John Schuneman V.D.S. , Theunis Van Vechten, James Barker,  Henry Van Bergen,  John L. Bronck,  Jacob + Hallenbeck,  William + Hallenbeck,  Anthony Van Bergen,  John A Whitbeck,  Samuel Van Vechten, Pieteer Conyne,  Thomas Hoghtelen,  Michael + Collyer,  Francis Salisbry Jr.,  Johannes + Jansen,  Lambert Van Valkenburgh,  Casper Hallenbeck,  Myndert V. Schaick,  William Van Bergen,  Casperse Hallenbeck, Peter Bronck, Leonard Bronck, Abraham Hallenbeck, Peter + Vanette, Wilhelmus Vandenburg, John Vanette, Wessel Salisbury, Carperse Halenbeck, John Groog, Abraham Salisbury, Reychert Van den Berk, Richard Johnson, John Vosburgh, Richard + Vandenberg, Henry Wabber, Arout Van Schaick, Jacob Van Loon, Jacob Hallenbeck, A. Doonhalten, Ebenezer Stanton, William Brandow Jr., Edward Groom, Haedirick + Schram, Clement Overbagh, Benjamin van Gerdener, Frederick Schram, William Jones, Reuben Stanton, Reuben van der Berk, Wilhelme Sammon, Jno Moore + John, John + Goes, Cornelius Connine, Richard Ten + Broeck, John + Hallenbeck, John + Munday, James Donney, Joseph Groom, Albert Van Loon, Joachim + Ryal, David Rose, Gererdus Neukirk, Matthias + Hallenbeck, Storm Prosa, Christian Blodaar, John Persaly, Burent Albartsen, Benjamin Cornelius Dubois, Benjam Dubois, Henry Irison, Nikasas Yare, Matthias Van Con Jan, Caspar Pare, John Romear, Benjamin+ Essex, John van Steinburg, Gared Peresen, John C. Claus, Jeremiah + Steenbergh, John + Wall, James + White, John + Snyder, Nicholas Van Loon, Martin Hallenbeck, John V. Schake, John W. Bught, Nickolas V. Schake, Peter Van Burgan, John Parree, Isaac + Collyer, Jacob + Livingston, Thomas + Templar, Joseph Nesbit, William Groom, Henry Knoll, Isaac Witbeck, William Wells, Samuel Stogles Salisbury, Hendrick + Smith, William + Smith, George Rosa, Martin G. van Bergen, Wilhelmus + Dederick, Jary Van Loon, Johan Wesdernich, Solomon Schut, Nicholas V. Scake, Dirk Van Veghten, John + Vosburgh, Frederick Dederick, Johan Niew, J. Wood, Wilhelmus + Oorbagh, Laurance Dubois, John Van Housen, William + Klauw, Jon Spoor, Johannis Sousa, Petrus Van Loon, Albertus Van Loon, John Rouge, Pet + Schram, Dirck Spoor, Andres + Eaghler, William + Cudney, Frederick Scheck, John Bronck, John Van Loon, Casper Hallenbeck, Matthias + Boom, Pete + Janson, John H Schurmerhorn, Hugh Denniston, Laurence Winney, Stephen Haight, Thomas Garnett, John Ellis, John + Lampman, Mod. Van Sand, Henry Oothoudt, Samuel Allen, Abraham Camer, Wilhelmus Lampman, Herman + Becker, Casper Hallenbeck, Nicholas Van Loon, Robert Thomas, Jacob + Shoup, Peter Van Loon Jr, Abraham Van Loon, Hendrick + Rose, William Rea, Philip Conyne, Reychert van den Berk, John + Schrader, Arent + Cooss, Philip Conine Jr, John van den Berk, Peter Conine, Jam. Hearn, Benjamin Smith, Peter Smith, John + Curby, Francis Salisbury, Cornelius Dubois, John Dubois, Thouny D. van Veghten, Cornelius Schermerhorn, Jacob Egbertsen Jun., Thomas Fish, Peter Bogardus, Thomas Aston, Johannes + Brandow, John Casper + Van Hoefer, Thomas Burdick, Arent + Fedder, Peter Soufer, William Schutt, Jacob + Cook, Coenrad Flaake, Coenraet + Hoghtaline, Richard + Houghtaline, Baltus Van Slyk, Jeremiah + Conine, Peter Van Slyk, Philip Bronck, Martin V. Bargen, Petrus + Brandow, Jacob Van Vechten, Abraham Salisbury, Heiybartus Dubois, Benjamin Dubois, William + Brandow, Gysbort Oosterhoudt, Garret P. + Steenbergh, Egbert Bogardus, Johannes + Van Garde, John Person, Johannis Conyn, Nicholas + Planke, Abraham Van Garde, Jam. C. Van Waganen, Richard Conways, John Taylor, Goefrie Brandow.